profile background people market opportunity collaborations

Floyd E. Bloom, M.D. - Chairman
Dr. Bloom is the immediate past Editor-in-Chief of Science, the world's premier journal of scientific thought and discovery, and the Chairman of the Department of Neuropharmacology at The Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla. A member of the National Academy of Sciences since 1977, he is the recipient of numerous prizes for his contributions to science, including the Janssen Award in the Basic Sciences and the Pasarow Award in Neuropsychiatry. He has also been named a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and a member of the Institute of Medicine. Dr. Bloom's more than 600 publications include the seminal work: The Biochemical Basis of Neuropharmacology.

John H. Morrison, Ph.D. - Member
Dr. Morrison is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Neuroscience at Mount Sinai School of Medicine in New York, where he is also the Johnson Professor of Geriatrics and Adult Development in Neurobiology of Aging. Dr. Morrison has published more than 240 papers, many dealing with the neurobiological events that accompany normal aging and how they differ from the cellular and molecular alterations associated with neurodegenerative disorders such as Alzheimer's Disease, a major focus for Neurome as well. Dr. Morrison has been recognized for his research through several awards and has served on numerous National Institutes of Health Advisory Panels as well as Scientific Advisory Boards for foundations such as the American Federation of Aging Research, Institute for the Study of Aging, Bachmann-Strauss Dystonia and Parkinson Foundation, and the Brookdale Foundation. Along with Drs. Bloom and Young, Dr. Morrison was also a founder of YBM, Inc., the company that led to the formation of Neurome, Inc.

Paul Greengard, Ph.D. - Member
Dr. Greengard, Astor Professor and head of the Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience at The Rockefeller University in New York, is a 2000 Nobel Laureate in Physiology and Medicine, an award recognizing his discovery of the role and mechanism of dopamine and a number of other neurotransmitters in the nervous system. Dr. Greengard received a Ph.D. in Biophysics from Johns Hopkins University in 1953. After postdoctoral studies in England at the University of London, Cambridge University, and the National Institute of Medical Research and the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, he became Director of Biochemical Research at the Geigy Research Laboratories in 1959. He was appointed Professor of Pharmacology at Yale University in 1968 and was named Henry Bronson Professor in 1981. Dr. Greengard joined The Rockefeller University in 1983. A sampling of Dr. Greengard's prestigious awards include the 1999 Ellison Medical Foundation Senior Scholar Award, the 1998 Metropolitan Award for Medical Research, and the 1997 Charles A. Dana Award for Pioneering Achievements in Health. Additionally, he is a foreign member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, a member of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and of its Institute of Medicine, and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Leslie Iversen, Ph.D. - Member
Dr. Iversen, Professor of Pharmacology at the Royal Postgraduate Medical School, Hammersmith Hospital in London and Visiting Professor in the Department of Pharmacology at the University of Oxford, is internationally recognized for his fundamental contributions to the understanding of neurotransmission and has linked his findings to the treatment and diagnosis of schizophrenia and Alzheimer's disease. He presently serves as Director of the Wolfson Center for Research on Age Related Diseases at King's College in London. Dr. Iversen received his Ph.D. and B.A. from the University of Cambridge. He was previously Vice President of Neuroscience Research at Merck Research Laboratories and Director of the Neuroscience Research Center of Merck, Sharpe and Dohme in the UK from 1983-1995. He was the Director of the Medical Research Council, Neurochemical Pharmacology Unit in Cambridge, England from 1970-1983. More recently, Dr. Iversen founded Panos Therapeutics, where he serves as Director. Earlier this year, the General Board at the University of Oxford reconfirmed Dr. Iversen's title as Visiting Professor in Pharmacology through 2003. Dr. Iversen is a recipient of numerous awards, including Fellow of the Royal Society of London and Foreign Associate Member of the National Academy of Sciences in the United States. He is the author of over 350 scientific publications.

Tomas Hökfelt, M.D., Ph.D. - Member
Dr. Hökfelt, a Professor in the Department of Neuroscience at Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm, Sweden, is a world leader in the mapping of chemical components in neurotransmission in the brain. Born in Stockholm in 1940, and raised in Sweden and Germany, he pursued his undergraduate medical studies at Karolinska Institutet, where he also earned his Ph.D. and M.D. In 1969, he was appointed assistant professor at the Swedish Medical Research Council. In 1979, Dr. Hökfelt became Professor in Histology with Cell Biology at Karolinska Institutet and he served as the vice chairman of its Department of Neuroscience from 1993-1999. Dr. Hökfelt is the recipient of over 15 major awards for his neuroscience research, including two awards from the Royal Academy of Sciences, Stockholm (1978 and 1979), The New York Academy of Sciences Award in Biological and Medical Sciences (1985), the Artois-Baillet Latour Health Prize (1987), The Bristol-Myers Award for Distinguished Achievement in Neuroscience Research (1988), Anders Jahre's Prize (1990), and The Eli Lilly Preclinical Research Award (1991). Dr. Hökfelt is a Foreign Associate member of the National Academy of Sciences (USA), and has been named Fogarty International Scholar at the National Institutes of Health (Bethesda, Maryland), Associate of Neuroscience Research Program (Boston and New York), Honorary Member of the American Physiological Society, and Honorary Member of the Centre for Neuroscience, University College (London). Additionally, he is a Member of the International Scientific Programme Committee for the Sixth IBRO World Congress of Neuroscience, Member and Chairman of the Committee of the Dargut and Milena Kemali Foundation, Member of the Nobel Assembly, and Member of the Advisory Board of the Institute of Neuroscience of the Chinese Academy of Sciences in Shanghai.

© 2005 Neurome, All Rights Reserved | Privacy Statement | Terms of Use | Forward Looking Statements